free site creation software

The Eversley Saga

Alice Chetwynd Ley first introduced the reader to the ‘irresistable Eversleys’ in The Clandestine Betrothal. In the end, three books featured the family of Lord and Lady Eversley as well as a short story. The family, characterised by their auburn hair, comprised: the eldest son Hugh, known as ‘Beau’ from his fashionable appearance (he features in The Clandestine Betrothal); his sister Georgiana (popularly called The Toast of the Town because of the number of suitors at her feet); and his brothers George and Frederick. The latter makes his major appearance in the short story An Eligible Gentleman.

The Clandestine Betrothal

First published 1967

The Clandestine Betrothal is a page-turning historical romance from a true mistress of the genre, which fans of novelists such as Georgette Heyer will surely enjoy.

The Toast of the Town

First published 1968

The Toast of the Town is a charming regency romance, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Aiken Hodge.

A Season at Brighton

First published 1971

A Season at Brighton is a heart-warming regency romance that will pull at any reader’s heart strings.

An Eligible Gentleman

First published in 1983

Frederick Eversley has a kind heart and succumbs to his Mama’s manoeuvrings to get him to join a family visit to Chalgrove Park, the home of his mother’s sister.